Zucchini Lasagna

Today, my friend and I decided to make this yummy lasagna (right) with a regular cheese one (left).

I was pursuing through Pinterest for a lasagna recipe to make and the sound of a total veggie lasagna sounded like an incredible idea to my friend.

At first I was a little skeptical about replacing the pasta with zucchini on one of my favorite dishes, however, I decided it would be a great experience to try it out. And so I did!

The recipe my friend and I took inspiration from  was one found on Gina Homolka‘s blog. Gina has a great blog with many delicious recipes and ideas that a cooking enthusiasts like myself would be a fool not to visit her page again for dish ideas.

Although I did like Gina’s recipe, I alternated it to reflect my own diet and what I had at hand in the kitchen.

I took the idea from Gina’s recipe to replace the pasta with (our attempt of) zucchini slices, but as for the rest of the recipe itself I kind of mostly winged it from my prior experience of making lasagna. We also did not grill out zucchini slices because we did not have a grill in hand, but that still did not stop us.

We decided to substitute the meat in Gina’s recipe with some vegetables. This included sliced tomatoes, some chopped spinach, and the leftover zucchini that I chopped up.

Eventually, we put all the ingredients together!!

We followed Gina’s cooking instructions for both lasagna’s , and they came out sizzling and filling the whole kitchen with their delicious smell.

Overall, the experience  and task of making this lasagna was fun and rewarding. It tasted exquisite; the tomato added a lot of taste and the zucchini itself gave my favorite dish an unexpected twist. I will definitely try this dish again.

Leave a Reply

